Wow… it has been a long time.  I hope to keep things more frequent – actually thats why I’m here. I’ve fallen out of my organization-productivity groove and I am desperate to find a new one (if not rediscover the old one). Are you curious?I hope that this will inspire you or amuse you at least. Documenting my steps may be the only way I can get this done. I’ve tried several times in the last months to get things going but have failed. Maybe *YOU* are the key to this…

First step is identifying what has changed. I had been in a place I was comfortable with. Things were organized and I felt I lived a productive life. I was able to create my art (which is key to my personal sanity) and engage with all of my family, friends and pets. Now things slip my mind and don’t get done. My routines are haphazard at best. I feel like I’m constantly forgetting things. Most importantly – I feel like I am disorganized and unproductive.

My boyfriend Matt and I now cohabit in my two bedroom house. This is my first time living with someone since my freshman year of college. I had a roommate for one semester. After college, I lived with my parents for another couple of years. I have only lived alone in this house though – so this is a MAJOR change.

Next change – Matt and I adopted Iggy Pup, a very lively and excitable Boston Terrier puppy. I can totally see how people say having a puppy is like having a baby in the house. 

These two factors added to my demanding work schedule have resulted in chaos. I work for a local magazine as the Editorial Production Designer. I work anywhere from 8 to 17 hours… usually around 10 hours Monday and Thursday. Tuesdays are the hard days… some times its 7am to 10pm.  Fridays depend on what publications are heading out to press. Lets say its just hard to plan anything without feeling disappointed or going to bed with tons of things on my mind.

Okay so there are my problems. Next step should be to start my game plan. How on earth am I going to get myself out of this mess and back on the road to organization?

I’m going to get out one of my junior sized Circa notebooks tonight and gut it.  All old forms and papers will be removed. I will fill it with blank paper. I have tried going to DiyPlanner.com and printing out forms I thought I needed with no results. The forms they offer are great but I need to know what I need first.

I’m going to do a “brain dump” … everything that comes to mind will go on the first page. If I fill it up, I’ll move a clean sheet to the front and fill that one.  I really like the Inbox approach presented by David Allen in Getting Things Done. If common themes start emerging, I may take some time to create master lists… Projects, Someday/Maybe, To Buy, Books to Read, etc…

That should be a good bit of progress and I’ll feel like I’m taking steps in the right direction. Thanks much for joining me on this leg of the journey… Stay tuned!

 

