My Mum called this morning and informed me that Dad and her were heading over to dig in my gardens. I was in one of my “no sun – no energy” moods and planned to sit on the futon until forced to move by bodily need or human intervention. I grabbed my overalls and gardening shoes and headed out. Oh and my bandanna. I live in my bandanna when I don’t have energy. I really need a hair cut but that isn’t really the point of my post tonight.

We removed all the maximilian sunflowers from the south end of the east garden. They never did much even with improved soil. Sad really. The ones out in the county get so tall and have millions of blooms on each stalk. Mine bloom so late in the season and topple over from their own weight – unable to hold up their dinky blooms.

My parents have come to terms with my own physical weakness. I have no rippling muscles and have tendinitis in both wrists. I’m still in denial but both my parents help so much. Matt even joined the fun. The south end of the east garden is now de-rooted and revitalized with peat moss and compost. I planted my new blue delphinium and a couple perennial lobelia. I’m excited to get things moved around. Oh and my orange poppies have been relocated to the sunny part of the south garden. Oh how wonderful orange poppies will be!

Orange is such a powerful color. Friday was a deadline day and I took a breather – just one moment and glanced around my work area. I had so much fun orange I just had to capture it.

Unofficial Orange Day

Click to go to flickr - more sizes and notes available.

I grabbed my Rose Art colored pencils on the way to work Thursday and colored a blue corner in my journal. Then later did an orange arch. Friday I was majorly craving fresh fruit so I drew a strawberry. Today I drew the orange and kiwi slice. I’m going to write “but i had Taco Bell for dinner” since we ended up stopping there before taking Iggy Pup to the dog park to see his German Shepherd Dog girlfriend Sammy.

Journal Spread

Click to go to flickr - more sizes available.

I don’t mind not finishing entries on the day listed any more. Journaling has become free and enjoyable. I don’t feel rushed or pinned to finishing the entry in daily order. A page for each day is okay and I can finish it when I feel the motivation or have the time. Life is strenuous enough without adding journaling to the list of must-dos.

I have so many ideas for art projects now its unreal. I bought gel medium so I want to work on collages. I also have all my new fancy edge scissors to experiment with. I bought some clearance art pens at Hobby Lobby this week and haven’t uncapped any of them. I am getting CraftyChica’s book Crafty Chica’s Guide to Artful Sewing: Fabu-Low-Sew Ideas for the Everyday Crafter for becoming her 4,000th follower on Twitter! I’m am SOOO excited! I’ve only made one item with my new-to-me sewing machine – a bag – and I’m falling in love with the idea of making more things. I do need to find out how to make my machine to a zig-zag stitch so I can sew paper for my collages. I have a sick desire to learn to quilt. Comfortstitching has the most exquisite quilts that inspire and tempt me to try one for myself.

I could go on and on but I’m sure you’d rather I just do something and post about than post about wanting to do it, right?
Take care and be well.

