The darling @marymg has been a loved member of my Twitter family from the beginning. She tweets about many things including fountain pens, cooking and the antics of her grandchildren. You can imagine my delight when I saw that she had gotten her darlings a puppy!

cecelia & abby copy

I love making Iggy Pup sweaters but I can’t do ruffles or flowers for him – he’s too macho. Not long after the puppy announcement I messaged Mary and the plotting began. One skein of Red Heart “Monet” yarn and an “H” hook later and the sweater/dress was taking shape.

dog sweater/dress in progress

Abby pup is tiny and its hard for me to create a form-fitting outfit if I can’t do fittings as I go. My idea was to create an outfit that would fit her now and when she is full grown, with just three measurements – neck circumference, length from neck to tail, and her widest girth at her ribs.

Finished dog sweater/dress

(Click for Flickr page - including multiple notes and large views)

Here is the final sweater dress. I crocheted a flower for the back. I hope its not too much girlie-ness with the ruffled edge. I thought it was the perfect amount of cuteness. The button and belly strap was a fun adventure. I created multiple buttonholes just in case pup grows a bit or the dress hit her at a different area than the widest. The neck line also has a crochet button but instead of a button hole I created a simple loop. Ideally these features will make dressing her easy and fun.

Finished dog sweater/dress

Here’s a side view. Imagine a puppy inside! This weekend I’ll be mailing this sweater/dress off to Mary, her adorable granddaughter Cecelia and the darling Abby pup. I’m crossing my fingers everyone likes it. I hope I can bribe them for a photo or two.

This was such a fun adventure. Crochet without a pattern is a lot of fun; I encourage everyone to try it … It’s worth it!

Take care and be well.

