Thank the heavens its Friday

My plans to honor the one hundredth post with the most epic and spectacular ever here at Miscellaneous Ramblings caused quite the delay. The BIG 100 is just too intimidating. I’ve decided to just put this post together and get it published so I can move past the intimidating milestone and get on with my journey.

Things have been odd for me lately. Work, home life, personal existence – all seem to be poking at my nerves with a sharpened stick. I’ve hit the proverbial wall again. Nothing I plan on doing turns into anything of substance. I daydream about beautiful collages and paintings but produce nothing when I try. I guess dreaming is good though, right? I haven’t lost my imagination. I’m also still keeping up with my Daily Doodles. I plan to update soon so please be patient just a touch longer.

cd cover

I did finish this digital art piece for a holiday CD project. A version of this will be used for the liner notes inside the CD booklet. I’m quite proud of how it turned out.

Friday I posted this on Twitter: “tis the season for seasonal depression fa la la la la la la la la”. Funny? sure but serious too because it affects a lot of people including myself. I can feel it a lot more in the last few days that I had earlier this autumn. Shorter days coupled with colder temperatures are taking its toll. I have decided that I am solar-powered. I know I’m not alone. You take the sun out of a daily equation and the end result looks like a puddle-o-blah.

If you do feel like you have some symptoms of depression, don’t be ashamed. You are not alone. Call your doctor and talk with him or her and get a game plan implemented. My arsenal includes medication from my doctor, a multi-vitamin with extra Vitamin D, Omega 3 fish oil pills, a daily walk of at least 30 minutes, and (probably most importantly for me) not allowing myself to sleep my entire day away. I have been known to avoid things by just heading to bed. Keeping a journal can be very therapeutic in sorting through the giant avalanche of emotions that can come up this time of year. Holidays are stressful enough, but toss in some Seasonal Affective Disorder and oh-my-goodness. Grab a pen or a paint brush, even if its your first time and draw something to get out how you feel. Maybe drop over at Patterns For Colouring and grab some markers or crayons and get some emotion out that way.

Most importantly, we are all in this together. Grab a friend and talk. Write a letter. Just don’t give up and know you are not alone.

I mentioned that my goal is to walk 30 minutes minimum a day. Today was the first day in quite a chunk of time that we bundled Iggy up in his winter sweater and went out for a walk. I find it so hard to muster up enough energy to do anything after work most nights, let alone bundle up the pup and go out walking in the cold. I know it helps me feel better but I still struggle to do it.

Oliver eating supper

Oliver kitty is still with us. He is so skinny now, just light as a feather. He purrs, plays and begs for attention though. As long as he is enjoying his life, he will remain with us. Feeding times get a bit hard though. I imagine some days he just doesn’t feel very well. I can’t imagine feeling poorly and having my mum following me around with a plate of food, begging me to eat. Oliver tolerates me and my pleads. Usually I can get him to eat something which is better than nothing. Bless his furry lil heart.

I'z keep mum company

Iggy Pup finally has a blog dedicated just to his furry lil famous self. Feel free to swing by his Tumblr.

Thank you for dropping by for post number one hundred.
Take care. Be well.

