Have you ever visited Comfortable Shoes Studio? Leslie Herger is an artist through and through. I’ve had the privilege of chatting with her on multiple occasions via Twitter. She’s amazing! I stalk her site and visit her Flickr photostream often.

Leslie’s one line bio is perfect. “I’m a bookbinder with a DayJob just trying to find my way to making art.” Her blog is a great window into her artistic adventures. She also runs an Artfire shop where she sells amazing handmade journals and notebooks along with original paintings. When she offered to send me a sample of her bookbinding work to enjoy, I couldn’t say no.

Comfortable Shoes Studio Jotters

Leslie generously sent me three jotters. They are a very convenient 3.5 inches by 5.5 inches. She uses old advertising posters for the covers. Each design is different and very graphic. You might end up with a letter or word or just abstract color. The three she sent me have a few letters but only one has a complete word on what I have positioned as the back cover. (I like the graphic nature of the mysterious letters over a complete word.)

Comfortable Shoes Studio Jotter

The paper inside varies to what she has on hand. My three contained a different paper in each, including Fox River 100% Recycled Ninja Speckled (ha ninja! I love it!), Environmental by Southworth, and Neenah Environment. The paper is 24lb and only one notebook had some printing on one side of the inner pages. Each notebook has between 40 to 60 pages. The jotters are stitched with a sewing machine with cotton thread. I can tell you, these are going to hold up to a lot of abuse.

Comfortable Shoes Studio Jotter

I’m not going to do a paper test because Leslie utilizes materials she has on hand and I’m sure they vary from batch to batch. From experience, 24lb paper should hold up well to even wet writers. Some fountain pen inks might want to feather a bit but I don’t predict having any problems.

Comfortable Shoes Studio Jotter

A lot of people love cahier style notebooks, pocket sized jotters are handy for notes, lists and random drawings. They fit comfortably in purses, bags, pockets, and glove compartments. I love making my own but not let’s face it, not everyone has time and energy. Instead of supporting big faceless companies, why not support handmade artists like Leslie? I just peaked and her shop is stocked full of great recycled jotters and other notebooks for great prices. Go take a peak!

I hope you enjoyed this review. Take care and be well.

