July 12, 1979 was the start of my life as an individual. I hope to have many more years in my future. Part of me feels that I’ve failed myself. At such a young age I formulated certain plans and haven’t reached several of those goals. But on the other hand, I am still growing and exploring. That can’t be a bad thing, right?

I began this blog in March of 2007. Can you believe that its already July of 2009?! Where has the time gone… and how did I suddenly become 30 years old?

Back in 2007, I created a page that tells a little bit about myself. I reread it today and realized how much time has passed. I hope to accomplish a few things in the next year and I’m going to try to use this blog as a constant reminder that I need to keep focused.

I really want to get myself deeper into my art. Ideally a gallery show will occur but I’m not sure that is likely. I’ve heard that a local art store (with upstairs gallery) does a call for artists now and again. That will be my first path of possibility.

Next on my list of “self-improvement” is to read more. I read a lot of blogs but rarely find myself with a book in hand anymore. It makes me sad. I’ve been reading my current library selection for over two months.

I need to stop wasting time. I know I should turn the tele off more often and will have to make a more conscious effort. I need to break my current habit of just sitting and pondering what I should be doing. I also get lost at my computer. I need to keep tabs on how much time I’m letting slip past.

Organize, organize, organize! Maybe I should get this tattooed on my forehead or start chanting it as my daily mantra. Somewhere in the past months I have become completely unraveled. My planner is with me but isn’t helping any more. Bills are paid later than I care for, late fees at the library embarrass this librarian’s daughter, feeling like I’m forgetting things is really taking a toll. I picked up some 5 by 8 inch grid index cards from Office Depot for just 53 cents each pack today. Maybe I’ll use them. Maybe I’ll use one of the million notebooks I have acquired to go with my gazillion pens.

Here is a glimpse at my “currents”.

Currently Reading:
When You Are Engulfed In Flames by David Sedaris

Current WIPs:
My ripple zig zag afghan in sunshine yellow and sky blue.
The tree drawing from my last post is in the same unfinished state that the photo depicts.
My crochet monkey is just a head and two rows of a neck.
A color pencil drawing I’m including with a package.

Current Pens:
Black Uniball Signo 0.7mm – pink awareness edition body.
Rotring Core with Private Reserve Supershow Blue.

Projects I’m mulling over:
Embroidery
More collages
Mini book (about 4 by 6 inches) held together with binder rings
Watercolor/Gouache painting to replicate one I dreamt about.

So much I want to do and so few hours in the day.

Thank you for visiting. Take care and be well.

